DIY Military Homecoming Signs, Dates, and More!

1

One of the most memorable times of my life (besides my children, their milestones and my wedding day) is when my husband came home from his first deployment. I was 18 years old, he was 19 years old and I was left to face the fears of war. I was looking forward to his homecoming as soon as they got orders for a deployment work up. Intense training, days, weeks and months without them can take a toll on a young marriage. Every homecoming is always great, whether your loved one is back from a few days in the field, a few weeks in other states training or deployments. I have a few tips that have helped me get through the deployment and prepare for his military homecoming.

1930985_1045303137676_2056_n

Keeping Busy

  • Create a Count Down Calendar
    (remove pebbles from a jar, X out days on calendar)
  • Get a Hobby
    (painting, yoga, couponing, photography)
  • Travel
    (move back home, explore places with other wives)

1930985_1045306417758_9673_n 38323_1544200729804_1091264_nΒ 1930985_1045303337681_4684_n

DIY Homecoming Signs

  • Linen Sheet
  • Fabric Paint
  • Brushes
  • Cute Quotes
  • Stencils (optional)
  • Poster boards
  • Red Cups
    (if you decided to spell something on the gates)

Items for Military Care Packages

  • Toothpaste & Toothbrush
  • Wipes
  • Eye & Ear Drops
  • Tylenol
  • Beef Jerky
  • Playing Cards
  • iTunes Cards
  • Body Wash & Scrub
  • Socks
  • Deodorant, Razor, Shaving Cream
  • Non Perishable Foods

4

Homecoming Dates

  • Cook his Favorite Dinner
  • Movie Night In
  • Romantic Candle Bath
  • Visit your favorite Restaurant

3

2

Be sure to select an adorable and comfortable outfit for your loved ones arrival. You will never really know the exact time that they’re bus will arrive nor the date. Keep yourself busy and continue counting down the days, it never gets easier but you will learn to cope with the distance. If you have tips, drop a comment, I’d love to hear your ideas!

10 thoughts on “DIY Military Homecoming Signs, Dates, and More!

  1. great ideas! It’s important to stay busy while your s/o is deployed. It makes it a little more bearable… I had a countdown app and I was always happy when a week would pass by and I would think that I am a week closer to seeing my husband.

  2. He just left for Afghanistan last week and I am already counting down the days until I see my SO!!!! I miss him soooo much! I wish time could go by really really fast!

    Great ideas by the way! Thanks for sharing them!!! πŸ’›πŸ’›πŸ’›

    • Thank your for reading! πŸ—½πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έwill be sending positive vibes ad prayers for a speedy and safe deployment. I will be creating more military related post I’m the future, I hope you drop by again ❀️

  3. Great ideas! I’m very close to my husband’s return now πŸ™‚ I absolutely agree with your points about staying busy, getting a hobby and traveling!
    This is our first deployment, and I know there will be more to come.

Leave a Reply

